Seoul Garden Korean BBQ Steamboat @ Puchong IOI Mall

Those around me know that I am a big fan of Korean food but I won’t mind stepping into one just for a change of taste once in awhile hence  I don’t really have any benchmark for such cuisine. Today we ventured into Seoul Garden to check out their fare as much hype has been going around on this place.

Like most bbq places, the Seoul Garden comes with an assortment of free flow of BBQ marinated meat, seafood, Yong Tau Foo (yes, YTF), imported vegetables, salads, fruits, dessert, ice kacang and ice creams. There is also a cooked station where fried rice and mee is available and changed from time to time. 

There’s this hotpot on all table meant for bbq with a hole in the middle to house a pot of soup. Rather interesting I thought.

Chinese herbal soup  placed on top of the hot pot. There are other options of soup available; Seafood KimChi, Thai Tom Yam and Ginseng chicken, all at the same price.

Flame control on all tables.

Korean chili sauce ~ This dipping was pretty good with a tinge of spiciness and some sweetness to it.

Fresh chili herbs ~ For a second I thought this was mint sauce but turned out to be some kinda chili with some finely beaten herbs. Tasted quite ok.

Pickles ~ Good appetizer! 

Mixed salad bowl ~ another good appetizer but with some Korean twist. See those KimChi’s? Not too bad a mixture!

Terriyaki lamb, Szechuan chicken, chicken bulggogi and squids ~ We took a bit of everything and this is the 1st round. The corn is not for bbq but to be dumped into the soup for extra flavors. The lamb and both the chicken meats tasted pretty alright but the squids were extremely salty.

Curry Dory, black pepper chicken ~ Both weren’t too good in my opinion but edible.

Coffee chicken, bbq chicken, bulgogi beef ~ Coffee chicken tasted so special upon the first bite, but as it goes, it turned really weird.  BBq chicken and bulgogi beef were nicely marinated and tasted fine.

Prawn, crab & Sze Chuan chicken ~ Prawn on the grille sure tastes fantastic. The smoky smell that emits from these fresh stuffs surely whets your appetite, real time! Again, the crab is for the soup and the Sze Chuan chicken.. well, ok la! 

The process ~ Just lay them on the hot plate and patiently wait for them to cook. One thing to note though, the air ventilation was almost non-existence; our clothes smelled like Korean BBQ after we were done.

The finished product. Time to fiesta!

Egg noodle with fishballs ~ Boring… I lose my appetite by just looking at it! The fish balls were really mediocre with no life in it. Not springy and tasted bland. Yawn!

I like the some crunchy longans and grass jelly after so much of meat.

Ice kacang ~ Another refreshing item to be found in Seoul Garden. Have as many bowls  of this longans, jellies and shaved ice as long as your stomach can accommodate. Besides this, they too have the coconut sago soup with sliced watermelon at the refreshment counter along with a coffee machine. 

Choco chip cookies and cream & pistachio almond ice-cream ~ Smooth, creamy and the cookies embedded in them really tears you apart!  I can have this all day and I had nothing less than 12 scoops that nite! Boy!

The crowd started pouring in after 7pm and most of them are Malays. Guess they must have the penchant for bbq stuffs! 

Overall, I would say that this bbq experience was just mediocre. For around RM 135.00, I guess I’ll have more choice or would opt for something that I prefer. Afterall,  nothing about the food is extraordinary. It was just ok, but nothing was so exceptional that I’d dream about it at night. Will I come back? Guess not coz been here, tasted it! 

If any from your makan group prefer to have western food instead of the Korean bbq stuff, just crossover to Breeks, located next to SG which is under the same Management.

  • Seoul Garden at IOI Mall 
  • Lot EG9 & EG10, Ground Floor
  • IOI Mall New Extension
  • Batu 9, Jalan Puchong
  • Bandar Puchong Jaya
  • 47170 Puchong, Selangor Darul Ehsan
  • Opening hours : 11.30am to 10.00pm
  • Tel – 603-8076 8726/603-8065 3166 
This entry was posted in BBQ, Korean, Puchong, Steamboat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seoul Garden Korean BBQ Steamboat @ Puchong IOI Mall

  1. I could not resist commenting. Perfectly written!

  2. Good day I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really founnd you by mistake, while Iwas lkoking on Bing for something else, Anyhbow
    I am here now and would just like to say many
    thanks for a tremendous post annd a all round exciting blog (I also loe the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse iit all at the minute but I have
    saved it and also added ylur RSS feeds, so wheen I have
    time I will be back to read a greqt deal more, Please do
    keep up thhe superb work.

Leave a comment