Mun Wah Hokkien Mee (文华福建面家) @ Jalan Maharajalela, Kuala Lumpur

Whenever we feel like having a good plate of Hokkien fried noodle, Mun Wah (文华) always top the lists. Operating since 1960, the Wong’s are still sweating behind the fiery hot wok dishing out plates and plates of noodles everyday to satisfying customers. 

Crisp little cubes of rendered solidified pork lard (猪油渣) is an essential ingredient in making stir-fried tastes amazing, giving it an extra edge especially in Hokkien frieds! I never fail to ask for additional to go with my noodles. Absolutely sinful but damn good! The sambal belachan is not too be missed too!

Fried Hokkien Mee (炒福建面) @ RM 5.50 (single serving) ~ Noodles infused with great amount of wok hei are coated evenly with the special dark soy sauce, served with generous amount of pork liver, squid & pork.  Every single bite tasted great! 

Fried Hokkien Mee Hoon (炒福建米) @ RM 5.50 (single serving) ~ Comparing the mee hoon and the mee, I somehow prefer the latter as I find this too oily to my liking. Nevertheless, it’s just as tasty!

Deep Fried Squid (油炸鲜鱿) @ RM 10.00 ~ We ordered this dish for the sake of trying out something different coz this was highly recommended by some fellow bloggers. Nothing great and tasted pretty bland! Stick to the Hokkien fried! 

              These are the 3 generals behind the success of Mun Wah. Two chefs and the captain. One of the reason as to why they are still commanding large crowds till today is they still cook those lovely food themselves even though how tedious to some it may be and especially foreign workers are so accessible nowadays! They do have quite a few foreign workers here to do other chores though but definitely not the cooking! 

Besides the famous Hokkien fried noodles,  they also serve the famous  Ba Gao Soup (猪肉汤)/Luk Ken Thang (pork slices coated with cornflour cooked in soup with shredded cabbage). I don’t normally have a chance to savour it as there’s only me and wifey, therefore there’s no way our tanks can accommodate especially after the plates of “fatty” and  yummy-licious noodles. Maybe you guys out there can swing by Mun Wah (文华) and give it a try?

  • Mun Wah Hokkien Mee (文华福建面家)
  • 155, Jalan Maharajalela
  • 50150 Kuala Lumpur.
  • Tel – 603-2144 7404
  • Business Hours – Mondays – Sundays (1700-0100) Saturdays & Public Holiday (1700-0200)
  • Closed – Wednesdays
  • GPS Coordinates
  • N03′ 08.181 E101′ 42.177
This entry was posted in Chinese, Chu Char, Fried Hokkien Mee, Fried Hokkien Mee Hoon, Hokkien. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mun Wah Hokkien Mee (文华福建面家) @ Jalan Maharajalela, Kuala Lumpur

  1. Hi I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was lookng on Digg for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to
    sayy chers for a fantasti post annd a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to browse it alll at the minute but I have book-marked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot
    more, Please do kee up the fantastic job.

Leave a comment