Dragon Star Inn Hai Nam Chicken Rice (龙门星店 SUKI 正宗海南鸡饭) @ Taman Supreme, Cheras

I’ve heard of this chicken rice stall for like…. God knows how long. From relatives to friends, all of them swore by it and told me that die die I must try and assured me that I’ll never visit other chicken rice stall again after tasting this particular one. 

I’ve tried driving around looking for this stall once but failed, so I got extremely excited when I drove passed it by chance today, after a movie at a nearby mall.

Camera 360Situated in an alley off Jalan Jintan 2, it is claimed that this stall serve one of the best and most authentic ‘Hainanese Chicken Rice’. While I cannot confirm this, I can attest to the accolades given to this place. Apparently, this place is always pack during lunch hours.

Camera 360Knowing the trend, I came outside lunch hour, around 2++, short wait and was served almost immediately after seated. On top of the service, the place is also clean and airy.

Camera 360Hainanese Chicken Rice @ RM 14.00/2pax ~ The chicken does not appear appetizing at first glance but were satisfactory and certainly not the best I’ve ever had. Somehow, it just lacked that aromatic chicken flavor that I was in search for. I didn’t feel like it was extremely out of this world and any  better than those served at hawkers. 

Camera 360The rice on the other hand was pretty good. Although it is not of high quality it is still well cooked – not lumpy and has a nice chicken stock fragrance. The chili sauce is worth mentioning too. It makes a perfect complement to the meat and the rice. 

Service was pretty quick. The food was fine, although not fantastic, and the price was decent. I think it’s more worth going just to say that I went but I wouldn’t go out of my way to return. . Maybe I came with high expectations after hearing all the praises. To be honest, it’s not the place I’ll linger for. It wasn’t such a big deal after all.

  • Dragon Star Inn Hai Nam Chicken Rice (龙门星店 SUKI 正宗海南鸡饭)
  • Lorong Jintan 2
  • Taman Supreme
  • 56100 Kuala Lumpur.
  • Mobile – 016-697 1858
  • Business hours  – 0900-1500
  • Closed – Sundays
  • GPS Coordinates
  • N03°05.901  E101°44.601

 

 

This entry was posted in Cheras, Chicken Rice, Chinese, Chinese Tea, Hainanese, Hawker, Poached Chicken, Steamed Chicken, Taman Supreme. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dragon Star Inn Hai Nam Chicken Rice (龙门星店 SUKI 正宗海南鸡饭) @ Taman Supreme, Cheras

  1. Sunny says:

    Below average chicken rice served with thin tasteless chilli sauce. Overrated!

  2. Rodney says:

    Read some good reviews stating that it’s very authentic and has no chains. Chicken was ok but nothing fantastic as claimed!

  3. Sandy Gan says:

    Totally agree with you Sumptuous! I wouldn’t recommend eating here coz I tried and the chicken is mediocre at best. For good chicken rice in a less dismal setting, try CR stall @ Mei Sin, Imbi instead.

  4. Sue says:

    Visited this place after hearing all the thumbs up on their chicken. Ended up very disappointed. Mediocre at best!

  5. Sumptuous® says:

    Sue ~ Good for a quick fix, nothing more!

Leave a Reply

