Chee Xiang Roast (吉祥烧腊) (@ 11th Miles, Cheras

11th Miles, Cheras… Now, how often do I venture to this part of the town? Hardly I would say. It so happened that I had some chores to attend, to which brought me here. As I was driving pass this busy little village, I saw an unassuming shack with a drive of people sitting beneath it eating away. Since it was lunch hour, I decided to check out the place. Who knows, I might be lucky to unearth some good stuff? After a few turns, I finally managed to get a parking across the stall. Parking here is rather nasty, so be warned!

Camera 360I was greeted by a stall hanging with all sorts of salivating meat ranging from roast chicken, roast duck, poached chicken, roast pork and strips of tasty looking char siew. Without further delay I took my seat and ordered away.

Camera 360Poached Chicken Rice @ RM 4.50 ~ E’s chicken rice came and honestly, I wasn’t too impress by the looks. It screams bland and tasteless. True enough, that was the case. The sauce didn’t help much either except lending some saltish flavor to the pieces of chicken. The only compliment will be the fluffy rice. 

Camera 360Roast Duck Rice @ RM 4.80 ~ I went for the duck breast part and it was pretty ok even though it looked more like braised pork to me. The meat was succulent and full of the ducky aroma. My only gripe is the overly dark skin which wasn’t crispy and lacked of flavor. The accompanying sauce was a tad too sweet for my liking. 

Camera 360Roast Chicken Rice @ RM 4.00 ~ Of three, this looked the most promising. The chicken skins were enticing, giving you that “come and eat me” look. It was yet another let down. It tastes almost like the poached chicken, if not the same except it came with a darker complexion (the roasted skin).

Camera 360Char Siew @ RM 17.00 ~ This looks good from rack of the stall to which I ordered 2 strips. The frist strip from the left was less caramalised but attribute a good mixture of lean and fats while the other strip was less enjoyable. Burnt parts were bitter and the missing fat parts made it tough. Seriously nothing much to shout about.

Disappointingly, the roast items here faltered to impress in whichever manner imaginable. I must admit I was tricked by the overwhelming crowd to this stall, but it wasn’t all that bad. For the kinda price, I am happy to get some meat to fill the gap in my stomach for lunch. You don’t always hit the jackpot when it comes to food do you?

  • Restoran Chee Xiang (吉祥烧腊)
  • 205, Main Road Kanan
  • Jalan Kampung Baru, Cheras
  • 43200 Kajang, Selangor.
  • Mobile – 012-614 5119
  • Business hours –
  • Closed
  • GPS Coordinates
  • N03°02.867  E101°46.492
This entry was posted in Balakong, BBQ, Char Siew, Cheras, Chicken Rice, Chinese, Chinese Tea, Hawker, Roast Chicken, Roast Duck, Roast Pork, Steamed Chicken. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chee Xiang Roast (吉祥烧腊) (@ 11th Miles, Cheras

  1. Shin says:

    Love your blog! I’m already a follower!

  2. Ronan says:

    You should check out the BKT stall somewhere around this area. Tastes delicious but it’s Teo Chew style. Let me find out the address and whatsapp you.

  3. Sherine says:

    Sorry, but I don’t think I wanna come here to eat. The place looked kinda dirty. You know me la, hygiene freak!

  4. Meng says:

    Didn’t like this place coz parking is a hell! Food is so so only but I really don’t understand what’s the crowd puller??!!

  5. Donnie says:

    Hey bro, do you know why you didn’t enjoy the food? Coz you never bring me along. Next time don’t okie.. hehe!

  6. Food Master says:

    Too bad you did not enjoy the char siew here. I love it! I drop by at least twice a week!

  7. Sam says:

    Alamak bro, the roast duck looks like it’s from India!

  8. Kee says:

    Been to this stall and was duped by the crowd too like you! Really no big deal place. Wonder why many rave about this shack?! Great blog with great pics you have here. Keep it up and don’t stop recommending us good food!

  9. Sumptuous® says:

    Kee ~ I will, I will!

  10. Steven Lee says:

    This is not the original stall. Original stall shifted to back of a Public Bank Balakong. Not mistaken coffeeshop owner took over. Original stall is really good especially for Char Siew n Roast Duck.

Leave a Reply

