Kafe Cha Cha Pan Mee Original (查查正宗板面) @ Kuchai Lama (Ceased Operation)

After spending our Raya break abroad, wifey & I began to crave for some local fare so we decided to hunt for some hawker food around the neighborhood. As we we rounding the place, we noticed this shop which came with a rather funky name.

This outlet has a simple decor with indoor/outdoor seating and I guess the owners must enjoy dancing the Cha Cha (查查) so much that they name their outlet after it!

Cha Cha original Pan Mee (查查正宗板面) @ RM 5.50 ~ Wifey went for this hand peeled version that comes with the standard potato leaves, sliced mushrooms & minced meat. The soup is good and the dough is smooth but a bit thick for her ! Slighty thinner would be better! 

Cha Cha Chili Pan Mee (查查辣椒板面/干捞) @ RM 5.50 ~ I ordered this version as I wanted something spicy. Instead of the common flat strip type, a round  version of noodle is used. Not bad and quite nice too! As I was prepared for a spicy taste, I was puzzled when I took my first bite only to find it tasting like an ordinary dry pan mee! Probably knowing we’re new customers, the lady boss came over and told me that I have to add the chili flakes which were provided in jars on the table myself as one can control the level of spiciness this way. 

This bowl of soup comes with my chili pan mee. The soup tasted ok but the potato leaves were old and chewy. 

Spicy Soup Chili Pan Mee (查查辣椒板面/清汤) @ RM 5.50 ~ Mom ordered the hand peeled version that comes with meatball, bean curd skin (f腐竹). The soup was rather spicy but it gets a little bitter as it goes along maybe due to the fact of being too spicy. Mom did not enjoy it that much due to the bitterness of the soup. The dough was smooth but again a little thick. 

Cha Cha Cha Yoke (查查炸肉) @ RM 5.50 ~ Deep fried and well marinated with crispy skins and tender meat. 

Different type of chillies available for your own selection. I never had enough of them, especially the chilli flakes! I whacked half a bottle in my bowl of pan mee!

Plum Pear Juice (砂梨果汁) @ RM 2.90 ~ Good thirst quencher especially after a spicy bowl on pan mee! 

3 Color Tea (三色奶茶) @ RM 3.50 ~ A combination of delicious flavours of milk, tea & palm syrup served in separated layers in a single glass. Sweet & creamy! 

Totaled @ RM 28.40 for this simple meal at a simple cafe. Besides the normal pan mee, Cha Cha offers other varieties of pan mee such as the curry version, the chili prawn, cha yoke and  I would like to try the sour plum pan mee on my next visit. It’s something like the Teochew steam fish broth, according to the friendly lady boss, Jess. Hope I won’t regret it or maybe I should ask wifey to try instead! 😉 Till then…Happy Malaysia Day!

  • Kafe Cha Cha Pan Mee Original (查查正宗板面)
  • 12A, Jalan Kuchai Maju 9
  • Off Jalan Kuchai Lama
  • 58200 Kuala Lumpur.
  • Mobile – 061-6600 135
  • Business Hours – 1000 – 2100
  • Closed – Alternate Thursdays
  • GPS Coordinates
  • N03′ 05.345  E101′ 41.210
  •    
This entry was posted in Jalan Klang Lama, Klang Lama, Kuchai Lama, Pan Mee. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kafe Cha Cha Pan Mee Original (查查正宗板面) @ Kuchai Lama (Ceased Operation)

  1. Sumptuous® says:

    vialentino says:
    October 7, 2010 at 17:56
    thanks for ur condolence wishes …wah….pan mee my fav and love ur this recommendation…nice food pics! and nice food site…hope to c u one day

    Sumptuous® says:
    October 7, 2010 at 21:22
    Vialentino,Have a few other good pan mee stalls that I’ve yet to post. Will put them up soon and you may go check them out! You have an interesting and fun to read blog as well! Hope to catch up with you too! Stay in touch and cheers for now!

    vialentino says:
    October 29, 2010 at 00:35
    firstly…i am so sorry that i am out from blogging for weeks and did not visit here. so sorry. work really killing me off lately.wow….pan mee…my fav…must visit here next time!

    Sumptuous® says:
    October 29, 2010 at 15:07
    Vialentino, Same here pal… been very bz and hardly have time to update my blog! Your are at least better than me with some postings! Anyway, bz is good! Stay in touch and tk cr! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

